Thin Lizzy Treated to More Reissues from Light in the Attic

Thin Lizzy Treated to More Reissues from Light in the Attic
Three years after delivering a repress of Thin Lizzy's self-titled debut LP, Light in the Attic is reviving the reissue campaign.

LITA is jumping into Thin Lizzy's back catalogue sequentially, with new remastered editions of sophomore set Shades of a Blue Orphanage and follow-up effort Vagabonds of the Western World due through the label on February 10.

Originally delivered in 1972, Shades of a Blue Orphanage is described in a press release as "an album that challenges your perceptions" about the group that'd later deliver "Jailbreak" and "The Boys Are Back in Town." "Sarah" is a softened number dedicated to leader Phil Lynott's grandmother, who had raised him after his mom left, "Call the Police" possesses a bluesy swagger, while the closing title cut is described as "world-weary."

Vagabonds of the Western World from 1973 is heralded as Thin Lizzy's first proper hard rock album, though it mixed in "the blues, folk, psych, and Celtic music." The album came in the wake of early hit single "Whiskey in the Jar," found Lynott adapting his vocal style to a "newly throaty howl" and presented wailing riffs on cuts like "Slow Blues." The album is the last to feature guitarist Eric Bell, who would soon leave Thin Lizzy due to health issues.

You'll find the tracklistings for both albums down below.

You can pre-order the reissues separately or as a 2-LP bundle that includes both or a 3-LP bundle that throws in the band's self-titled debut.

Shades of a Blue Orphanage:

1. The Rise And Dear Demise Of The Funky Nomadic Tribes
2. Buffalo Gal
3. I Don't Want To Forget How To Jive
4. Sarah
5. Brought Down
6. Baby Face
7. Chatting Today
8. Call The Police
9. Shades Of A Blue Orphanage

Vagabonds of the Western World:

1. Mama Nature Said
2. The Hero And The Madman
3. Slow Blues
4. The Rocker
5. Vagabond Of The Western World
6. Little Girl In Bloom
7. Gonna Creep Up On You
8. A Song For While I'm Away