John Frusciante Announces Electronic LP as Trickfinger

John Frusciante Announces Electronic LP as Trickfinger
Former Red Hot Chili Peppers' guitar god John Frusciante has announced plans to release new material under his Trickfinger moniker. Taking the self-titled route, Trickfinger will arrive on April 7 via Acid Test.
The self-titled record marks a departure from Frusciante's rock'n'roll sounds, instead exploring electronic music and the world of acid house.
In a letter that will be included with the album [via Resident Advisor], Frusciante explains the change in his musical approach:
I started being serious about following my dream to make electronic music, and to be my own engineer, five years ago. For the 10 years prior to that, I had been playing guitar along with a wide range of different types of programmed synthesizer and sample-based music, emulating what I heard as best as I could. I found that the languages machines forced programmers to think in had caused them to discover a new musical vocabulary...
In 2007, I started to learn how to program all the instruments we associate with acid house music and some other hardware. For about seven months I didn't record anything. Then I started recording, playing 10 or so synced machines through a small mixer into a CD burner. This was all experimental acid house, my skills at making rock music playing no part in it whatsoever. I had lost interest in traditional songwriting and I was excited about finding new methods for creating music. I'd surround myself with machines, program one and then another and enjoy what was a fascinating process from beginning to end…
A statement from the label reads: "Frusciante's desire to cede control to machines has paradoxically allowed him to present a singular take on elemental dance music, a brilliant and unexpected entry into Acid Test's growing canon of modern, 303-focused dance music."
You can check out the full tracklisting for the upcoming album below, and if you scroll past that you can stream brand new Trickfinger cut "After Below," courtesy of Acid Test's home label Absurd Recordings.


1. After Below 
2. Before Above 
3. Rainover 
4. Sain 
5. Exlam 
6. 85h 
7. 4:30 
8. Phurip