Hiatus Kaiyote Return with New Album 'Mood Valiant'

Hear first single "Get Sun" with Brazilian legend Arthur Verocai
Hiatus Kaiyote Return with New Album 'Mood Valiant'
Hiatus Kaiyote have detailed their first new album in six years. The Australian outfit will release Mood Valiant on June 25 through Brainfeeder/Ninja Tune, marking their first effort for the Flying Lotus-led label.

Mood Valiant follows Hiatus Kaiyote's 2015 full-length Choose Your Weapon, a record that has been sampled by the likes of Drake, Kendrick Lamar, Anderson .Paak and Chance the Rapper in the time since its release.

Work on the album was paused in late 2018 after lead vocalist/guitarist Naomi "Nai Palm" Saalfield was diagnosed with breast cancer.

The first look at Mood Valiant arrives today with "Get Sun," which you can hear below. It features now-celebrated Brazilian composer and arranger Arthur Verocai, whose 1972 self-titled studio debut has found legions of new listeners in large part due to samples used by MF DOOM as Metal Fingers, Little Brother, Statik Selektah and more.

After conceiving the song during a session in Australia's Byron Bay, the band were invited to Rio de Janeiro by Verocai to complete "Get Sun" in Brazil in late 2019.

"When you think your life is going to be taken away from you, it makes you think about who you are," Nai Palm shared in a press release. "I guess after the breast cancer scare I decided that I needed to prove to life that the offering I have is genuine. My only wish is to live and offer my experience of time and beauty."

Mood Valiant:

1. Flight of the Tiger Lily
2. Sip Into Something Soft
3. Chivalry Is Not Dead
4. And We Go Gentle
5. Get Sun (feat. Arthur Verocai)
6. All the Words We Don't Say
7. Hush Rattle
8. Rose Water
9. Red Room
10. Sparkle Tape Break Up
11. Stone or Lavender
12. Blood and Marrow

Pre-order Mood Valiant