A. G. Cook Announces New Album 'Apple'

Watch a video for opener "Oh Yeah" now
A. G. Cook Announces New Album 'Apple'
On the heels of dropping off the 49-track effort 7G, A. G. Cook has announced yet another new album. The PC Music head will release new LP Apple on September 18 through the label.

"Apple is my own take on Personal Computer Music," Cook explained in a statement. "I've always been interested in the blurred line between bedroom and professional studio production, and at what point a personality either gets created or accidentally takes shape. For me there's a great sense of freedom in combining something slick with something naive — a reality where anything could happen." 

Of the effort's title, he offered, "In calling the album Apple, I wanted to draw attention to one of the simplest, most everyday objects, which somehow contains references to almost everything imaginable — from computers to the Beatles, New York to Snow White, and an entire world of history and mythology. A little free advertising doesn't hurt."

Album opener "Oh Yeah" arrives alongside the announcement, and you can find an accompanying video below. 

"The notion of pure, classic songwriting is one of the core aspects of the album and 'Oh Yeah' is maybe my most direct attempt," Cook said of the song. "I was really inspired by Shania Twain and how her clean, slinky vocals tell you as much about the song as her lyrics. The song itself — like most pop music — is really about confidence & escapism, and how bittersweet those things can feel."

Recently, Cook lent his production skill to Sigur Rós singer Jónsi's forthcoming solo album.


1. Oh Yeah
2. Xxoplex
3. Beautiful Superstar
4. Animals
5. Airhead
6. Haunted
7. The Darkness
8. Jumper
9. Stargon
10. Lifeline

Pre-order Apple.